restriction

 

I have a long history of restricting my food. This started when I was 13, way before I had ever heard of vegetarianism or veganism. When I say restriction, not once does “plant-based diet”, “veganism” or “Eat To Live” pop up in my head. Restriction to me starts out as subtracting calories here, calories there. Then I start cutting meals in half, and then I start skipping meals. I start telling myself that grains are no good, and that my body doesn’t really need “much fat” at all. So the nuts and seeds have to go. And Godzilla forbid that I should eat avocado. Then one of my meals will become juice and a wheatgrass shot. It’s insidious, and before I know it, I am barely eating and usually exercising like a maniac.  One of my FB recovery friends shared this blog from Natalia over at E2 today, “Redefining Restriction”, and I thought I would pass it along to my Ladies of the Nute.

“What is restrictive? Let’s look at this a bit deeper.

I eat all the food that I could want.
I get all the calories I need.
I enjoy the food that I eat, not just enjoy, I really love the way the food tastes.
I can shop at any grocery store, anywhere, almost 24 hours a day.
I can go into most restaurants and get a decent, healthy meal.
I can get my food frozen, prepped, chopped, diced, ready made  if I want.
I can go to a farmers market every week if I want to do that.
I can have groceries or produce DELIVERED TO MY FRONT DOOR.

How is that restrictive?

I don’t think about my food very much anymore. I know the foods that are most healing for my body, and I eat them. I continue to have success with my health.

Let me tell you what is restrictive.

Eating in a way that restricts my body from knowing what to do with insulin.
Not being able to see because of nerve damage caused by high blood sugar, that is restrictive.
Not being able to walk more than a few 100 feet because of severe pain from nerve damage, that is restrictive.
Having severe, debilitating depression because you have no hope, that is restrictive.
Having blood pressure so high that it makes daily tasks dangerous and potentially life threatening, that is restrictive.
Being so morbidly obese that you can’t wear a seatbelt, fit into any airplane seat, theater seat, or feel anything remotely close to comfortable? That is restrictive.
Your joints hurting so badly you sneak away to cry at a party? Restrictive.
Eating in a way that restricts blood flow, causes heart disease, causes strokes, causes many cancers? That is far more restrictive to the quality of my life.” 

 

I like her take on redefining restriction. What’s your take?

http://engine2diet.com/the-daily-beet/redefining-restriction/

2 Comments

  1. Q – I loooooove this article. I’ve been working on the way I think about food, in terms of abundance vs restriction. An abundance of nutrients and healing. An abundance of energy for my body to use as it needs. An abundance of color and flavor. An abundance of respect for my body and health, represented by my choices.

    Happy Wednesday :)

  2. Q: What a great article – I’m glad you shared. Especially because from the outside perspective, that is usually what is so focused upon: the restriction of ETL. What a great way to accurately redefine that.

    NG: I love you using the word abundance in counteraction to restriction, and how while ETL and veganism may seem restrictive to so many people, it really is about abundance and joy and health and healing and wellness and kindness and compassion and and and. XO

Leave a Reply

